University Pirates

In August 1987, several Darwin Institute of Technology staff from the DIT Students Association and the then Director of Coaching for the Northern Territory Rugby Union discussed the possibility of DIT entering a C-Grade team into the 1987/88 Rugby season.  Following key signings of a few local stars, the Pirates were then convinced to field an A-Grade side as well. The DIT Pirates Rugby Union Football Club was formed and the Pirates were set to become a reputable force in Darwin Rugby Union.

From the outset, the members of that fledgling Club strove on the playing fields to be competitive, attempting to align themselves with the on-field tactics displayed by the top Rugby Union sides of their era. It was not merely that they were able to imitate their strategies, but more that they set themselves ambitious game plans and tried hard to achieve them.  The style of game they set for the Club quickly became its trade mark.

Today, the University Pirates Rugby Union Football Club is based at Charles Darwin University in the Northern suburbs of Darwin in the Northern Territory.  University Pirates is now a well established club, consisting of 75 senior players and 125 juniors. The club also boasts a modern club house situated on a picturesque oval with newly built changing rooms and state of the art gym facilities. The club is very much family orientated with various activities for the juniors during home games and training sessions including family dinners on Tuesday and Thursday nights.

As was intended back in 1987, the Pirates of today continue to play with ambition, determination, and a winning team attitude. As a testament to this, the University Pirates have gone on to win 9 premierships since their inauguration into the A grade competition and have been well represented in 16 hard fought grand finals. Pirates players wear the uniform with pride and play with the badge aptly above their hearts; giving their all for their team mates, and driving forward in pursuit of victory.

University Pirates RUFC - "Never to be crossed"