Latest News

Aussie Women Name Strong 7s Squad for Darwin

The Australia Women’s 7 Team have announced a strong line-up to contest the Coca-Cola Hottest 7s in the World next week.

Olympic Gold Medalist Evania Pelite will spearhead seven other contracted players plus four development players at next week’s 12-team tournament.

The Aussie Girls are seeded 2nd behind two time champion Tribe 7s.

The NT Goannas squad won’t announce their final twelve until the eve of the Tournament and will play the Central Queensland Dingoes first up on Day One.

The Prize Pool for the Women’s Competition has been increased by 167% to $24,000 recognising the significant growth in participation in Rugby since its inclusion as an Olympic Sport.

Pool I; Tribe 7s, BMW 7s, Singapore, Palmerston

Pool J; Australia Development, CQ Dingoes, NT Goannas, Blackout

Pool K; Iconz, Sydney University, East Arnhem Swampdogs.

Australian Women's Development Squad

Evania Pelite – Gold Medalist

Hannah Southwell - contracted

Demi Hayes - contracted

Lily Dick - development

Brooke Anderson - contracted

Brooke Walker - contracted

Page McGregor - development

Dom Du Toit - contracted

Shanice Parker - contracted

Darcie Morrison - development

Georgie Friedrichs - contracted

Shenae Ciesiolka – development

(AP Photo/Themba Hadebe)

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of NT Rugby.