Latest News


The Hottest 7s in the World received a boost on Friday with confirmation popular Fijian team Daveta Rugby would be competing in the event at Rugby Park next month.

From its humble beginnings in 1989 and subsequent emergence on the international club scene in 1992, Daveta has grown into one of the strongest international club sevens teams in the world.

Daveta won the inaugural World Club 7s tournament in Limerick in August defeating Munster and Auckland amongst others en route to victory over Vancouver in the Final

The team has a strong affinity with the Darwin tournament having won the first Territory 7s on debut as a Club in1989.

A restructuring of the Asian 7s calendar had jeopardised their participation with a commitment to play in Sandakan in February.

Daveta’s inclusion in the line-up along with Hong Kong, Borneo Eagles and the Gumatj Cavaliers marks the first time all four semi-finalists from one year have returned to compete the following year.

Hong Kong is the reigning Croc Champions having defeated the Gumatj Cavaliers in January’s Final.

The Cavaliers were seeded fourth and stunned the crowd with an upset victory in their Semi over the top seed Borneo Eagles while many thought Hong Kong were a touch lucky to defeat Daveta in the other Semi.

Borneo Eagles go into the tournament on the back of victory in the prestigious Singapore Cricket Club 7s while Daveta bowed out in the quarter finals of that November tournament.

Brisbane based Tribe 7s who were eliminated in the Quarter Finals by Hong Kong this year are returning with a strong line-up of players with Australian 7’s and NRC experience including;  Junior Laloifi, Peter Lee, Thomas Pincus and Nicki Tuvitu.

The 2015 renewal of the Hottest 7s will feature a Men’s team from Victoria for the first time.

The Footscray Bulldogs from Melbourne’s Western Suburbs are a Club with a large Pacific Island player base.

The Bulldogs finished mid table in this year's Premier Grade Competition.

Adelaide Cub Burnside is returning to the Top End for the first time in more than a decade.

Their last visit resulted with a victory in the 2004 Buff Competition having also won the Croc in 1996.

The Double Blues were runner-up in this year’s South Australian Premier Grade Competition.

Along with the National Team from Singapore and the Perth based invitation team Fresh 7’s the competition amongst 42 teams for a share of the $60,000 prize money on offer for the January 24-25 Tournament will be fierce.

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of NT Rugby.