Latest News

Dragon’s Trio earn Rising Star Nomination

Callum Mayo, Jerry Thomas and Ankin Lewis earned nominations for the Bendigo Bank Rising Star Award when the trio started for Darwin Dragons in their Club’s Round 14 match against Swampdogs.

Callum Mayo started on the wing while Ankin Lewis played half-back and Jerry Thomas lined up as flanker.

The trio’s selection has given Dragons five nominees to date for this year’s Bendigo Bank Rising Star Award joining team mates Jonas Niki and Douglas Bush in the elite group of young players.

The award recognises young players who are eligible to play in an Under 18 Competition who are selected and start in a First Grade match for the first time.

Earlier this year The NT Rugby Union announced the annual Bendigo Bank Rising Star would be the recipient of the Tawera Kerr-Barlow Medal in recognition of the Palmerston Junior’s rise from an Under 6 player with the Crocs to World Cup winner with the All Blacks.

There has been a total of 18 players nominated for the Bendigo Bank Rising Star Award this season compared to three in 2014 and ten nominees the previous year.

Players previously nominated this season are; Thomas O’Connor (South Darwin), Jonas Niki, Douglas Bush (Dragons) Dean Tinning, Brodie Morcom, Joseph Cameron, Harry Berns (Swampdogs) Ryan Graham, Luke Morgan-Doherty (Casuarina) Liam Bilston, Jimi Fitzgerald, Jonathan Briskin (Palmerston) Hone Edwards, Hugh Harbeck, Brandon Thomson (University)

This year’s winner will be announced at the Eric Johnston Medal Presentation Dinner on August 7th.

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of NT Rugby