Latest News

Goannas take on Nation’s Best in Adelaide

The NT Goannas, the Northern Territory Women’s Rugby 7s team take their game to the National stage this weekend when they compete in the National 7s Championships in Adelaide.

The team is drawn in Pool C along with ACT, Western Australia and Queensland White in the 12 Team Competition.

The Goannas line-up has completely reformed from the side that went to the Nationals in March 2015 while Brielle Felton and Tanisha Garling have graduated to the senior side after representing the NT in the Youth Girls Division at that Tournament.

Palmerston’s Sarah O’Connor’s inclusion in the side caps off a stellar season for the 18 year old who won NT Rugby’s inaugural Bo de la Cruz Emerging Talent Award in August. 

O’Connor, along with Lucy Lockhart, Natalie de Guzman, Bianca Stokes and Ellie Hills are late inclusions to the side that was announced earlier this month but will undoubtedly seamlessly slot into the side.

The experience gained this weekend in Adelaide should be the catalyst for a strong showing at the Hottest 7s in the World in January.

There will be a Territory link in the South Australian side with former Taminmin High player Taylor Savage in their team  while the ACT is coached by 2015 Goanna’s mentor  Damien Tyson.

The Team is; Alicia Smith, Sarah O`Connor, Brielle Felton, Rebecca Dunbar, Caitlin Ryan, Sharyn Laws, Tanisha Garling, Marina Kavana, Bianca Stokes, Ellie Hills, Natalie de Guzman, Lucy Lockhart, Coach Peter Pauli, Manager Clancy Stanfield, Trainer Sarah Moran.

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of NT Rugby.