Latest News

Six Rising Star Finalists Announced

Six finalists have been announced for the 2016 Bendigo Bank Rising Star Award. 

This year there was 19 nominations across each of the six Clubs for the award which is up significantly from three in 2015 and ten the previous year.

The award recognises young players who are eligible to play in an Under 18 Competition who are selected and start in a First Grade match for the first time.

The year’s winner will be presented with the Tawera Kerr-Barlow Medal for the first time in recognition of the Palmerston Junior’s rise from playing Under 6s with the Crocs to a World Cup winner with the All Blacks.

Palmerston player’s Thomas Roe and Greg Svanfelds have been the last two Bendigo Bank Rising Stars and the Crocs have Liam Bilston and Jimi Fitzgerald in the running for a Club three-peat.

Swampdogs duo Dean Tinning and Joseph Cameron have had stellar seasons at both Club and Representative level with the Northern Territory Schoolboys.

South Darwin’s centre Tom O’Connor and Darwin Dragon’s winger Jonas Niki join the elite group of players in contention for the prestigious award to be announced at the Eric Johnston Medal Presentation Night on Sunday 7th August.

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of NT Rugby