About Us

The Northern Territory Rugby Union is the state administrative body for Rugby in the Northern Territory, responsible for managing the development and running of the game. We are here to support the growth of this great game throughout the Northern Territory.

The Darwin Club Competition is the oldest and longest running in the Northern Territory. There are six clubs based in the Greater Metropolitan Area that have both First and Reserve Grade Teams.  Most of the Clubs also enter teams in each of the six Junior Age Divisions. The Darwin Club Competition is played between March and August. The First Darwin Club Competition commenced in 1976.

The Central Australian Rugby Union administers a four team Competition based in Alice Springs with matches played between October and March, played on either Friday or Saturday Nights at ANZAC Oval.  The First Central Australian Club Competition commenced in 1986.

The Katherine Rugby Union administers a four team Competition with three teams based in Katherine and the fourth based at Tindal. Matches are played between October and March on Friday Nights at the Katherine Sport and Recreation Club. The First Katherine Club Rugby Competition commenced in 1988

The East Arnhem Rugby Union is based in Nhulunbuy, on the Gove Peninsula.  It is a small organisation based in a very remote part of Australia, but is at the forefront of rugby union's efforts to involve Aboriginal people. The Yolngu people of East Arnhem Land have adapted well to Australian Rules football. Now that talent is being seen in rugby union. The EARU participates in a number of rugby sevens competitions around Australia and in Singapore.


NT Rugby is governed by a Constitution adopted in 2006.  It has a Board of nine (9) Directors elected by eleven (11) voting members comprising the six (6) Darwin Clubs, Katherine Rugby Union, Central Australian Rugby Union, East Arnhem Rugby Union, NT Schools Rugby Union & NT Rugby Referees.  Reporting to the Board is a Chief Executive Officer who in turn manages the organisation’s staff.


Set the broad strategic direction of the organisation through appropriate consultation with stakeholders. This includes determining the organisation's purpose, core values and the ethical framework as well as key objectives and performance measures.

  • Appoint, direct, support professional development, evaluate the performance and determine the remuneration of the CEO.
  • Monitor the financial and non-financial performance of the organisation.
  • Ensure financial and non-financial risks are appropriately managed.
  • Ensure the organisation complies with all relevant laws, codes of conduct and appropriate standards of behaviour.
  • Provide an avenue for key stakeholder input into the strategic direction of the organisation.


Directors have a fiduciary duty to act in the interests of the members as a whole and not to represent individual constituents. Thus, once elected a director must cooperate independently in the interests of the organisation as a whole, free from undue influence. The legal duties of individual directors include a requirement for directors to:

  • Act in good faith and for a proper purpose
  • Exercise due care and diligence
  • Ensure the organisation does not continue to carry on its business while insolvent
  • Meet the requirements of various federal and state laws which directly impact on the organisation.
  • Adhere to the code of conduct specifying the behaviour expected of directors.
  • Disclose actual/potential conflicts of interest.